Roaming Around Rome (all alone)

The past few days, I was fortunate enough to travel to Rome, Italy. Within the first few hours of my trip, I was in love.

Rome is a very different place than Barcelona. The streets are smaller and windy; people are friendly and will greet you with a “ciao;” the food is to die for. If I hadn’t studied abroad in Barcelona to work on my Spanish, I’d definitely want to be somewhere in Italy.

Image

My Sister and I at the Colosseum

My first afternoon in Rome, I spent the day wandering the streets and familiarizing myself with the city. I didn’t even know what I was seeing, but there were Roman ruins everywhere I looked. I located the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, along with a few other monuments on my map. Another reason I fell in love with Rome so quickly, is that there are purses and handbags sold on every street. Bags are my weakness, and within a matter of hours I bought a knockoff Prada.

Image

Authentic Italian Food: Nothing Compares

Italian food is one of my favorite types of food. It’s a tie between that and Mexican, so being in Rome, Italy, I was extremely excited to have some authentic Italian food. In the three days I was there, I had pizza four times, amazing lasagna, and pasta carbonara. I also had gelato six times…no regrets. I could eat Italian food the rest of my life and be happy.

Image

St Peter’s Basilica

On day two of my trip I visited Vatican City. I grew up in a Catholic family, and attended a Catholic school for 13 years. However, since college, I haven’t been too good about going to church, so I was surprised at how much I enjoyed visiting the Vatican. I toured the museums, saw the Sistine Chapel, and entered St Peter’s Basilica. It was amazing to realize that I was visiting such a historical, important place.

Image

Colosseum

Day three I got to see the infamous Colosseum. It really was incredible standing where gladiators fought so long ago. After the Colosseum I went to Piazza Navona, which a friend had recommended I see. Also known as the “Fountain of Four Rivers,” it was a cute square surrounded my restaurants and gelato shops. I ate my amazing lasagna there in Piazza Navona. That evening, I returned to Trevi Fountain. I had heard it was beautiful and less crowded at night. I tossed my three coins-right-handed over the left shoulder-and took some photos. Being my last night, I had some pasta and gelato with my sister, and bought one more purse-when in Rome, right?

Image

Trevi Fountain

I went to Rome to meet up with my sister, who was on a class trip. However, I spent most of my three days touring the city alone. I had originally been worried about this, but it turned out to be one of the best experiences abroad I’ve had. After my trip to Rome, I feel more independent than ever: I flew alone, found my hostel, navigated the city with just a map, used the metro, and ate all alone.

Rome was the hardest city to leave so far. I’ve never been to a city where I was so aware of how much history it contained. I could go on and on about how much I loved it: the food, the sites, people, shopping, weather, you name it. I don’t know when it will be, but I can’t wait to return to Italy. Ciao for now, Roma!

Leave a Reply

